top of page

Women's Cycling Awards

Updated: Dec 7, 2020

Cycle Sisters Founder Sarah Javaid wins Women’s Cycling Award

The Women’s Cycling Awards organised by Cycling UK and The London Bike Show celebrate female talent and achievements from across the cycling world in 12 different categories.  A panel of high profile women working in the cycling industry drew up a shortlist of nominees which were put to a public vote.  The awards were launched with the aim of inspiring many more women to get on bikes and encourage those who do to push themselves to even greater feats.  

Our Founder Sarah Javaid was announced as the winner of the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ Award which recognises “an exceptional female who gives their time and energy that has gone above and beyond to dedicate themselves to cycling.”   The panel mentioned that they were particularly impressed with the dedication to provide regular cycling opportunities to an under-represented group.  

Sarah says, “I’m really proud of the work that we are doing at Cycle Sisters to enable more Muslim women to cycle and experience the benefits of cycling.  We are passionate about tackling the inequalities in cycling head-on by catering specifically for Muslim women’s needs and it’s fantastic that these efforts have been recognised by the Women’s Cycling Awards!  This award is shared with all the incredible volunteers that make Cycle Sisters possible from our inspiring role model Ride Leaders to our group committee members and Trustees.”

Cycle Sisters was also shortlisted for the ‘Cycling Club of the Year’ award which was won on the day by the InternationElles, a group bringing together amateur female cyclists to take on some of the world’s toughest cycle challenges.  

The winners were due to be announced at a ceremony at The London Bike Show on 27th March, however due to the Covid-19 outbreak a virtual ceremony was held instead.  Winners in other categories included British Paralympian Dame Sarah Storey, cycling writer Emily Chappell and World Champion Road Cyclist Annemiek van Vleuten.  You can read more about the other winners and nominees here

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page